top of page

2019 Reading Goals


Every year, I set an impossible reading goal for myself. At this point, it’s traditional. However, along with a number goal, I like to set some other reading goals for myself. These other goals prevent me from re-reading my favorites and avoiding intimidating or uncomfortable books. My goals push me to seek out books I would have otherwise never picked up. As a writer, reading is part of my work. I can't afford to read lazily.

2019 Reading Goals

  • Read at least 75 books. Add more if I complete that goal.

  • Roughly half of my yearly total should be written by women. This is sadly, more difficult than it may seem, especially when reading in science fiction and fantasy.

  • Read at least 10 books written by POC—again, more difficult than it may seem.

  • Read a 2019 debut book. I love reading debut works.

  • Read a book published between 1900 and 1950. I am guilty of mostly reading newer books.

  • Read at least 10 books written by LBGTQ+ authors.

  • Read a banned book. The ex-library employee in me always looks forward to banned book month.

  • Read at least one book by a Native author. This was one of my goals last year, and I read several!

  • Read a book by indie author or micro press.

  • Read at least one book of poetry.

  • 30 books in 30 days September

These goals can and will intersect. I’ll be tracking my overall progress on Goodreads, but am going to try and use a more in-depth spreadsheet for lots more juicy data. Unlike other years, I will not be purchasing any books. As part of another challenge that I have set for myself, I am limiting my purchases. Blog post to come, on that challenge. In years past, I have stocked up on used books at library sales and warehouse sales. I'll be relying on the library this year. It's time to get started.

What are your reading goals for 2019?

bottom of page